
 

 
 

PAQ Questions - January 20, 2023  
 
 
Reminder on the 3 webpages where ALL the information you need is posted: 
 
• https://www.fina.org/artistic-swimming/rules  
• https://learning.fina.org/coaches-education-artistic-swimming/  
• https://learning.fina.org/coaches-officials-artisticswimming/  
 
1. How to declare rotations in Acro in Group A? 
 
Please refer to the Acrobatics Catalogue and Quick Reference Sheets as well as the PAQ 
session and presentation on how to declare acrobatics: 

o Recording: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=10nybxR9ecA 
o Presentation : 

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1X9kSVShxrEa_WSYSdgDE6qUuLlgFuhGU/view 
• You can declare Somersaults stand-alone, Twists (head up or horizontal), and 2-axis 

rotations (somersaults with twists) 
• Please refer to the Acro Clarifications for allowances posted on the Learning Platform 

(Officials page): 
o https://learning.fina.org/wp-content/uploads/2022/11/FOR-TC-Acro-

Clarifications_26_11_22_light.pdf  
 
2. How can I calculate a rotation and what happens if the number of rotations that I 

declare is not equal to the number performed? 
 
• For Hybrids please refer to the Difficulty Guide Rotations section 
• Rotations must be completed in full – there is no allowance 
• You must do what you declare – so you can do more, but not less 
• For example you declare a R3 (Spin 360-720) and do 900º (720 + 180 more) you are 

fine, but if you declare that R3 and only do 270 (90º less) that would be Base Mark 
• It is the same principle for Acrobatics (you can do more but not less) – please refer to 

the Acro Clarifications for information on rotations and their applicable allowances: 
o https://learning.fina.org/wp-content/uploads/2022/11/FOR-TC-Acro-

Clarifications_26_11_22_light.pdf  
 

3. How to declare rotations in the Construction in Group B? 
 
• Please refer to the Acrobatics Catalogue and Quick Reference Sheets as well as the 

PAQ session on how to declare acrobatics: 
o Recording: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=10nybxR9ecA 
o Presentation : 

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1X9kSVShxrEa_WSYSdgDE6qUuLlgFuhGU/view  
• Please refer to the Acro Clarifications for allowances: 

o https://learning.fina.org/wp-content/uploads/2022/11/FOR-TC-Acro-
Clarifications_26_11_22_light.pdf  
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4. Does T2 have a specific ending? Can it be lowered into VP with one leg, joining VP, 
rotating or crashing? 
In the case of the first 3 options, could an AW1 or R1 be added to T2, for example? 

  
• T2 is a Thrust with one leg 
• It can descend in the one leg position or join as descending 
• It can’t crash from full height, but it can break/crash below the knee at 4.5 height 

level (see Difficulty Guide addendum) 
• Thrust with one leg with rotations are in higher levels – please refer to Difficulty Guide 

and Table) 
• No an AW1 or R1 could not be added to T2 – choose the appropriate thrust from the 

difficulty table.  
 
5. In C4 or C6, do both legs have to be connected close to VP, or just connected? 
 

*IMPORTANT: we are aware Connections definitions need improvement and that will 
come with next revision. Until revised/clarified officially by World Aquatics, we are to 
follow what is currently in writing. 

 
• The C4 definition currently states: 

o When swimmers are connected with two legs 
facing, back or side to each other in any vertical 
position. 

o The intention here is that the two legs of each 
swimmer connect vertically (see snapshot from 
video example) 
 

• The C6 definition currently states 
o When swimmers are connected with two legs facing, back or side to each other 

in any vertical position while performing a rotation of at least 180o at maximum 
height. 

o Same as C4 just with rotation 
 
6. For it to be considered a hybrid, do you need at least 3 movements? 
 
• A Hybrid is defined as having a combination of two or more movements 

performed with lower limbs with intentional apnea (head down under hips level). 
Horizonal movements along the surface with 1-2 lower limb actions that have 
consequential apnea (rolling over, kicking, etc.) are considered transitional 
movements. 

 
7. The Connection required in 1 of the free hybrids of the Mixed Technical Duet, does it 

have to be with both swimmers or can be connected but 1 swimmer do legs and the 
other arms, so is the difficulty of the factored legs declared? 

 
• Yes it has to be with both swimmers. 
 
8. In the required surface connection in the Mixed Duet Free, do both swimmers have 

to be with their heads out of the water? Is there a minimum advance required? 
 
• It has to be at the surface (heads/faces could be in the water) but the 

movements are a surface connection. 



 

 
9. Can the BM be corrected by the Technical Difficulty Controller, either because 

an NM or TU of more or less was declared? 
 
• Yes – as stated in Difficulty Guide. 
 
10. In the event that an ACRO declares a number of rotations, but more are 

performed, does the ACRO remain in BM? 
 
• Please refer to Acro Clarifications document on the Learning Platform: 

o https://learning.fina.org/wp-content/uploads/2022/11/FOR-TC-Acro-
Clarifications_26_11_22_light.pdf  

• Principle is you can do more, but not less than the allowance. 
 
11. Can you declare an R1-R4 factored *3, 6 times? 
 
• No – please refer to Difficulty Guide page 14. 

o When a hybrid movement (those with 2x maximums) has a factor applied 
of 0.5 (half swimmers) or 0.3 (less than half of swimmers) a coach may 
declare that movement a maximum of 4x when factored. 

 
12. The difference between Float and Standard of the ACRO-P can be clarified? 
 
• Please refer to Acrobatics Catalogue & Acro Clarification document 

o https://resources.fina.org/fina/document/2022/11/01/4e42dae2-e2c5-481d-
9a45-76522a54cedc/09-AS-Rules-2022-2025-Appendix-VII-Acrobatics-
Catalogue-October-2022.pdf  

o https://learning.fina.org/wp-content/uploads/2022/11/FOR-TC-Acro-
Clarifications_26_11_22_light.pdf  

 
• Standard Platform (coordinated actions of “base-swimmers”, where they lift 

from underwater a “support-swimmer” in horizontal position; and 
featured-swimmer stands, sits, or lays on support swimmer) 

 
• Floats - is a coordinated action of “base-swimmers” and/or “support” 

swimmers that form a stable geometric figure (from legs or hands or both) 
on the surface on which later featured-swimmer execute movements. In 
some exceptions: floats can be lifted from underwater (it will be considered 
as a bonus) 

 
13. Can Duet and Team Bonuses be factored as well if not all athletes perform 

them, or can they only be declared if all perform them? 
 
• Yes bonuses can be factored by 0.5 or 0.3 
• Here is some more information on that: 

o 0.5 factoring is when half team up to one less than all team members 
For example, there is a team of 8, any declared movement/bonus that is done 
with 4, 5, 6, or 7 team members is *0.5  
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o 0.3 factoring is always when less than half of all team members 

For example, there is a team of 8, any declared movement/bonus that is done 
with 1, 2, or 3 is *0.3  

 
o Traveling 

▪ Half team or less than half the team travels (if not PC) 
▪ This applies when only half the team or less than half are doing a hybrid on 

their own 
o Angles 

▪ Half the team or less than half the team performs angles in a hybrid OR while 
half/less than half of team are doing a hybrid on their own 

o Placement 
▪ If half the team or less than half the team does a hybrid during the last 20s 
▪ This applies when only half the team or less than half are doing a hybrid on 

their own 
o Synchronization 

▪ If half team/less half team does a hybrid with synchronization: For example - 4 
team members are doing arms in eggbeater, and 4 team members perform a 
fully synchronized hybrid = SY-F*0.5 (value = 0.25) 

▪ This applies when only half the team or less than half are doing a hybrid on their 
own 

o Pattern Change 
▪ When half the team/less than half the team does a hybrid with a Pattern 

Change 
▪ This applies when only half the team or less than half are doing a hybrid on 

their own 
 
14. From what moment does the Technical Synchronization Controller start 

counting the errors? 
 
• As per the Synchronization Guide page 2:  

o Synchronization Technical Controllers start to count unequal actions when 
the music accompaniment begins. 

 
15. In order to be considered a Pair Acro, does the support swimmer have to be 

underwater? 
 
• Yes 
 
16. If there is a team action with 3 swimmers involved, will it always be considered 

as a Transition, and will it be evaluated within the AI? 
 
• If you mean an acrobatic type move – then yes that would be a transition.  
 
 
 
 
 
 



 

 
17. Are the Spins in the Free Hybrids considered different than in the TRE? 

 
• Yes: 

o Please refer to the Difficulty Guide p.6 as this is well explained 
o They have no allowances 
o They can be completed until the toes 

 
18. In order to be considered an unbalance movement, do both legs need to be 

out of line? 
 
• Please refer to the Difficulty Guide Addendum Item #11: 

o When “Unbalanced” is stated it means both legs, from knees to feet, in the 
same direction: forwards, backwards or sideways. Body position arched, 
piked, or tilted. 

o If one leg bends while the other leg is unbalanced and the swimmer’s 
center of gravity out of the vertical line is compensated by knee bending 
that keeps the swimmer in a stable position – this does not qualify as 
unbalanced. 

 
19. In the Free Mixed Duet, the Additional Required Elements have to be 2 or is 2 

the minimum? 
 
• If you are refering to the Two (2) connected surface movements with travel – 

2 is the mínimum, you can do more if you want. 
 
20. In the Youth Team, do we have to somehow declare the required Thrust and 

Spin720? And do they have to be done on the same Hybrid or can they be 
done on separate Hybrids? 

 
• Just declare on Coach Card – it will be checked that there is a Thrust included 

in a hybrid, and a R3 that executes a Spin 720 in at least one hybrid 
• These movements can be done in the same hybrid or two separate hybrids. 
 
21. When an F1 or F2 is declared, does the Split have to be a flat split? 

 
• No - Judges will consider this in execution (Guiding scale for Split) 
• Technical Controllers verify that the movement happened as declared 
 
22. When an F2 (Walkout Front) is declared, is the F1 of the split position also 

declared or is it implied that the F2 starts in split and is not declared? 
 
• This has been asked / discussed and is pending clarification in a future version 

of the Difficulty Guide 
• At this point in time, we have no written restrictions in the Difficulty Guide or 

Addendum on declaring any movements/transitions back-to-back 
 
 
 
 
 
 



 

 
23. Are the connected actions in Duet and Team free and are always considered 

within the AI? 
 
• If at the surface (transitions) – yes 
 
24. Is there any limitation on the number of connected actions that can be 

performed? 
 
• For Surface Actions/Transitions - No. 
• For Hybrid Connections - Yes –> max 2x/hybrid 
 
25. Is the end of T2 and T4 (flexibility) optional or do they require a vertical 

descent? 
 
• Please refer to Addendum Item #10 (knee level as reference point) 
• T2: If a descent is executed from maximum height until below the knee (4.5 

stable height) and then a crash occurs, this is ok 
• T4: As stated in Difficulty Guide p.5: 

o A Thrust with flexibility (T4) or a twirl (T4, T5) may have any ending including 
a crash 

 
26. Is a rotation from a Split Position to a Tub or Tuck Position considered an R1? 
 
• Yes if 180-360 
 
27. To declare a connection, do the swimmers need to be connected or is it 

enough that they are touching? 
 
• Re: Hybrids – as noted previously this section has been flagged for improvement of 

definitions. 
• For Hybrids, please refer to the video examples – these give best examples of 

connections/touching 
• Re: Surface Connected Movements -> it is usually some sort of 

touching/connection: hand to hand, hand on shoulder, etc. 
 
28. A connection where 1 swimmer has one leg and the other 2, is declared as one leg? 
 
• Hard to answer accurately without seeing an exact example, but likely one. 
 
29. How do you declare a Hybrid where one swimmer is on legs and the other is 

on arms but connected? 
 
• This is type of connection is not a declaration (does not exist) – any hybrid difficulty 

would be factored. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 



 

 
30. In AW4, can the leg that is vertical make movements of no more than 45 

degrees outside the vertical line? 
 
• AW4 definition is: 

o Sustained height with one leg (Bent Knee Vertical Position or Fishtail) or 
combination of one of two legs lasting equal or more than 3 seconds 

• So yes 45º range off vertical line 
 
31. F1 or F2, do not include Middle Split position?  
 
• Yes it does (Left, Middle or Right) 
 
32. The allowance in the rotations of the TRE and the rotations of the Free Hybrids 

is different?  
 
• Please refer to the Difficulty Guide p.6 as this is well explained 
• Free Hybrids have no allowances 
• Free Hybrids can be completed until the toes 
 
 


